Introduction to the Australian Football League

The Australian Football League (AFL) is Australia’s most popular sport. Every year between March to September, ‘footy season’ hits and many Australians get swept up in ‘footy fever’.

StudyAdelaide takes a closer look at this unique Australian game…

What is AFL?

AFL is a game involving football players, an oval and an oval shaped ball – a football. Each game is divided into four 20-minute quarters with a 20-minute break at halftime, and is played on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays. There are 23 rounds in total throughout the season.

The top eight teams then play off in a four-round finals series, which is held at the Melbourne Cricket Ground every year. The winning team in the Grand Final is termed the “premiers”, and is awarded the premiership cup.

Basic rules

Players run around a giant oval and can pass the football with both their hands and feet. The aim of the game is to kick the football through the goal posts.

A kick between the big goal posts is six points and a kick in between the big and small goal posts equals one point.

If a player hits the big goal posts, that team will be awarded one point but no points if it hits the small goal posts. And if a player touches the ball before it crosses the line, one point will be awarded.

Who are the Adelaide teams?

While there are 18 clubs in the AFL, Adelaide has two teams – the Adelaide Football Club, nicknamed the Crows; and Port Adelaide colloquially called Port Power.

There is also an Adelaide Football Club women’s AFL team.

Where can you watch a game in Adelaide?

You can watch the Adelaide home games at the iconic Adelaide Oval throughout the season. See the full list of games here.

You Might Also Like

No Comments

    Leave a Reply